RSS

A sad goodbye

30 Apr

I’m downloading the photos taken on our recent bike trip, and while organizing them I realized I had some on my pc that I never posted here. At the beginning of april, our closest neighbours (a nice couple living upstair from us) told us they were leaving because he got a very good job offer in Switzerland. They knew it for a while but they wanted to be sure it all was organized before telling anyone. It was a bad news for us because they are very nice people, always so smiling and sociable, always ready to have a little talk. They rang our bell one evening with a sad smile on their faces, inviting us out for lunch the next sunday. We knew something was up but we didn’t expect this…. They said they wanted to spend a little time just with us before having a big goodbye party….we choose a restaurant we all enjoy from now and then, in the city center…

It was cold outside and it was nice to just sit quietly and talk….until we realized the waiters were setting the tables for dinner…..maybe it was time to go!

Few days later they hang an invitation card in the main entrance of the building for a party in their home, a sort of long happy hour…. luckily for them, beside the bedroom and the kitchen, everything else was already out of the way, and each one of us brought a chair, but we also contributed with these (my daughter’s work)

and this is my mom artichokes pie

I offered to help setting the tables and the food………

and while G and F were busy in the kitchenette

everyone else was having fun (sorry, last pics from my cell, not the best)

Now I have to think of them there……….not so far from here and on a road we have to go on our usual way north on vacation, so maybe sooner or later our paths will cross again….

 
3 Comments

Posted by on April 30, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , ,

3 responses to “A sad goodbye

  1. Gattina

    April 30, 2013 at 4:05 pm

    Oh yes, that’s sad when a good neighbor leaves ! You never know who will be the next one !
    We are lucky our neighbors are all retired now or almost and won’t move and they are all nice !

     
  2. Mary

    April 30, 2013 at 7:03 pm

    Wow Gracie – what amazing food to say goodbye to your neighbors! Bet it was a fun time although sad they are moving away. I would LOVE to try your mother’s artichoke pie – it looks delicious!

    Thanks for stopping by – I’m hoping I can now post on your blog – I was having trouble a while back and had to give up.

    Here goes – sending hugs dear.

    Mary X

    P.S. Watch the blog – I’m off again soon on another big adventure!

     
  3. Mary

    April 30, 2013 at 7:04 pm

    Oh that’s great it worked for me – I’ll be checking in now and again to see you.
    Mary X

     

Leave a Reply

 
