RSS

Virtual friends

30 May

Over the years, surfing the world through internet, I’ve come across a lot of people from different parts of the planet.

I’ve always been curious about people lives, habits, their different cultures – if they are from another country – and interests. I’ve always thought that what make us different, make us interesting and unique. I’m satisfied wih myself knowing that I don’t judge people by their race, religion belief or language (I don’t judge people at all, as I’m aware that only walking in someone shoes can somehow give you this right). The curiousity is the same with my old time friends, my neighbours and new encounters. And people from the net, of course.

I’ve been visiting many sites, forum and blogs according to my interests of the moment, my mood and what I was going through in my life. To some I’ve been faithful for years, I have my weekly appointments with them, some others I visit sporadically, maybe just because of the people there. Some are new and I’m learning my way into them.

What I find difficult to handle are the “personal” connections. I used the word personal on purpose, I’m aware that I really don’t know personally the people I talk to on the internet, but I’m aware as well that those names on the screen are real persons, with a life, some troubles, health problems – or family or love or money ones – people exactly like me. The matter is, I tend to care for them as I do with my in-flesh-and-blood friends….and be far away is the real pain.

You know, there is this girl from Romania who could easily be my own daughter considering her age, she has a loving and caring family, but I think about her as a sort of adopted child living far away…. or this american/french lady about my age, who lost her dad at almost the same time I lost mine who’s living in a country I just adore and that could give me some advices about letting your children fly away….or this other lady living in the cold and snowy north Europe who loves to travel as much as I do (and succeding better then me in doing so…). And then there’s this one young lady, who just started a new life, whom  I admire so much for her kind spirit and inner beauty, or this three-times-already “nonna” who moved from my beloved NYC to be close to her children and grand-children always sharing her life with so much kindness….. An italian architect who writes in a very funny and smart way about almost everything, and who helped my daughter with lots of links for her jobs’ hunting…..these two ladies, one from Belgium the other from North Carolina, who always make me green with envy with all that travelling…..and an english “gardener” who gave a hand with her own thesis to help my daughter….A young nurse from Holland, the master behind this site, has a special place in my heart because we managed to actually meet some years ago while I was there on vacation… Then, there are the new people from LMM, my obsession really….from the States, England, Germany or Japan –  it seems so small the world, sometimes – kindred souls indeed.

All those people have a life, a real one, off the web…..all of them have stuff going on on their lives, good, bad or worse….nice moments, sad ones, ups and downs….and all I’m able to do, is write some simple words according to the circumstances. While I’d like to give a supporting hug, dry a tear or jumping with joy holding their hands…. They are all special to me.

Words are not enough sometimes.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on May 30, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , ,

4 responses to “Virtual friends

  1. africankelli

    May 30, 2013 at 3:05 pm

    You are so dear to me! Thank you for this. We will share a great bottle of wine and a pizza one day, my friend.

     
  2. Roz Cawley

    May 30, 2013 at 3:44 pm

    What a lovely post, Gracie – makes me appreciate even more the visitors I have to my blog and all those I visit, like you, in a virtual manner, and how much pleasure they give me. Thank you for including me – I hope you enjoy many more visits to Autumn Cottage Diarist (even though you would be laughing out loud if you could see me now, covered in cobwebs and ‘things’ in my hair!!
    Much love,
    Roz xx

     
  3. ionuca

    May 30, 2013 at 9:10 pm

    You are right: although we haven’t met in real life, you ARE one of my dearest friends 🙂
    This post is the loveliest thing I’ve read in a very long time. Thank you!

     
  4. Gattina

    May 31, 2013 at 1:21 pm

    I agree with you, blogging allows you to learn so much about people living in other countries or even continents. I noticed that finally we are feeling all the same no matter what nationality or color we have. (Btw nice to mention me because of my travels, but I don’t travel that much compared to others, lol then I am green!) I had the opportunity to meet some Bloggers life and they were exactly like in their blogs and we even became real friends. Only with two I had a disappointment, they weren’t at all like on their blogs ! You have to be careful, there are Jenkylls and Hydes, lol !

     

Leave a Reply

 
