RSS

Memories…..travels, family, friends, places…..

10 Apr

My daughter helped me go through and organize in a different (and easier) way all my photos, delete old online photos albums and copying them on some cds. Doing that it was really like I had all my life (well…..almost) passing before my eyes………so many memories, good and bad moments, old and new faces, different feelings…….

Sorry, this will be a long post, and not all the pics are that good….

Our newest friends, L&S from Modena, here waiting for dinner the same day we met for the first time at the Nurburgring racetrack in Germany in august 2007.

Our oldest, – L&D – living just a block away, in 1981 in San Marino and in 2003 visiting the Mauthausen Concentration Camp with our families.

During my teens I used to go to the same beach for years and in 1979 I met this parisian girl  with italian roots, T. We stayed in touch and in 1984 just after I got married, she came to visit

and the next year we went to Paris for the first time to meet her and her family family

The most cherished vacation memory, South West England in 2004 with our friends L&E and our daughters

They are members of our mixed group of addicted bikers…not always on the saddle but often around a table!

Hubby with one of his heroes in London in 2004 – no matter he was made of wax – ………

and finally on the Assen track in Netherland in 2008

and where we actually have our second home, Verdon Canyon in France (here in 2011) – after 5 times there we expect the honorary citizenship soon!

The photo below brings so many happy memories and a sad feeling because our friends G&O (here the 4 of us before the Belvedere Palace in Wien in 1997) have disappeared from the scene three years ago, they are on the verge of a divorce for some time now, and have burnt all the bridges behind them……

Another happy moment follwed soon by a sad one. This was the last time S&P were out with us before she was diagnosed with breast cancer. She lost her battle two years ago.

Me and daughter M at Le Point du Grouin (Bretagne) in 1996 and in London in 2010 (first trip of many just-me-and-you)

Our last trip together (till now…..) in Belgrade last november

The lifetime trip (till now at least, I have no limits….) Boston and New York in 2013

Do you remember when I posted about my favourite tv channel? It was a dream came true when I finally was in that shop!!!

I was born one month after the Wall in Berlin was built, I was fortunate to see it go down during a touching television live program, and I was there to see its remains in 2010

When me and hubby got together I was 17 and he was 20…..

and here we are, on our honeymoon in Tenerife in 1984…yup, next month it will be our 30th anniversary!

Who knew that 29 years later we would be proud parents to this Dr lady?

And talking about family, here we, hubby and I, some years ago with my parents just a year before my father was diagnosed with Alzheimer

Me with my parents, I was about 2 years old…

and at 8 on my First Communion and my aunt E was my godmother. I lost her 4 years ago.

My maternal grandparents, the most serene people I’ve ever known. I lost them too years ago, but not the “love instructions” they gave us all.

Years ago, in 1998, one of my first dreams came true, and we had an amazing time in Ireland. I have to go back there and take back home the piece of my heart I left in that beautiful and enchanted land…

 

 

 

 

 
5 Comments

Posted by on April 10, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , ,

5 responses to “Memories…..travels, family, friends, places…..

  1. Akriti

    April 10, 2014 at 11:53 am

    NICE 🙂

     
  2. Gattina

    April 11, 2014 at 6:30 am

    Nice travel through the past !

     
  3. Pat @ Mille Fiori Favoriti

    April 15, 2014 at 5:54 pm

    All wonderful photos, Gracie! I enjoyed seeing your parents and grandparents–you look like your Mother. I also loved the photo of you on the Brooklyn Bridge! I can see it was very cold that day. You know I also love Ireland, and I hope to visit it again soemday.

     
  4. ionuca

    April 22, 2014 at 5:04 pm

    This was one of the sweetest posts I’ve ever read! Thank you!

     
  5. Dee

    April 23, 2014 at 1:56 pm

    I came away from these nice photos feeling like I knew everyone. I realized I was smiling as I went through them.

     

Leave a Reply

 
