RSS

Liberty villa

12 Sep

I’ve passed this house so many times over the years but I never gave it a second thought……until a few weeks ago, when I walked past it and I took a couple of pics with my cell phone….

Later, looking at those photos, I realized how beautiful this house is and I wanted to learn more about its style. I’ve always loved Liberty, but my interest was for objects, furnitures….I never thought about buildings, especially in my hometown.

This house is the most visible tribute to the Liberty in Parma. By local architect Mario Stocchi Monti (Parma, 1880 – 1950) it’s called Villino Bonazzi (1911) from the name of the family that ordered its contruction, a building that is “among the most typical of the Italian Liberty, due to the pursuit of spectacular image effects (i.e. the solution of the entrance, a shaped corner, thanks to the clutch between the tower, the stairwell and the remaining part of the squared building) and to the virtuos taste of architectural detail and decoration, whose phraseology, repertoires and style, derives from both the french-belgian Art Nouveau and from measured eclecticism, raging already in the nineteenth century and in those years in full recovery”.

A few days ago, one morning I left home earlier and armed with my camera, I paid the house a second visit….

The building is stunning from every angle………..now next step is get to know somebody having access to the inside to discover more….lol…

 
2 Comments

Posted by on September 12, 2015 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

2 responses to “Liberty villa

  1. ionuca

    September 13, 2015 at 5:09 pm

    Wow, it looks absolutely amazing! But is it just me or is it empty? 😦

     
  2. Pat @ Mille Fiori Favoriti

    September 16, 2015 at 3:47 am

    I love the balconies and ornamentation on this building

     

Leave a Reply

 
